the largest elephant in the world

The train services in Germany, mostly knowned as Deutsch Bahn,  are simply amazing. That’s because I just need to put the street where I am to the street I want to go and will show exactly which transport connections I will have to take, with precise schedule, trajectory duration and walking time. For this park it took me approximately 3h30, two trains connections and one Bus line, all this just one way. But the train is comfortable and I spend the time in the train very nicely. I had brought my laptop and I was watching some video lectures from the current MOOC I am taking.

Discovering North Rhine-Westphalia, the Largest Elephant in the World

Maximilian Park has the largest elephant in the world and it belongs to the Industrial Heritage Trail. The Glass Elephant was built onto the disused coal washery whose head is accessible by lift. It was a pity that it was still not possible to go inside, only from 1st may on. The advantage was that I paid only 1€ instead of 2,5€ (student price).

The park has several playing areas for children and I felt nostalgic about those times I spent in such places so genuinely happy. Kiosks and barbecue areas are scattered all over the park but all closed at this time of the year.

As soon as I left the park and I was walking to the bus stop, I was fortunate to catch the bus right away without need to stand still even 1min. Amazing. I just love when that happens. And I haven’t checked the time schedule. If I had, it wouldn’t have happen.

One thought on “the largest elephant in the world

Leave a Reply

